Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

Office of the Fire Marshal

Fire Prevention Staff

 Name Job Title Email 
Matthew Griffith Fire Marshal matthew.griffith@fire.ca.gov
Bryttany Ferguson Fire Safety Specialist bryttany.ferguson@fire.ca.gov
Skylar Bertram Fire Safety Specialist skylar.bertram@fire.ca.gov
Consuelo Gallegos Fire Systems Inspector consuelo.gallegos@fire.ca.gov
James Kozakiewicz Fire Systems Inspector james.kozakiewicz@fire.ca.gov
Monica Rodriguez Office Assistant III monica.rodriguez@fire.ca.gov

 

The purpose of the City of Indio Office of the Fire Marshal is to provide services aimed at reducing the risk of fire and injuries to the public. The Fire Marshal is responsible for the Fire Department's Fire Prevention Office. The prevention office consists of the Fire Marshal, two Fire Safety Specialists, two Fire Safety Inspectors, and one Office Assistant. The Fire Prevention staff ensures public safety is maintained by accomplishing the following duties:

  • Adopts and enforces codes and ordinances relative to fire and life safety issues associated with commercial, industrial, and residential development.
  • Coordinates the inspection of commercial buildings, and enforces hazardous materials regulations.
  • Works with developers and City planning departments on development projects impacting fire protection services, from conception through planning process approval.
  • Conducts new construction inspections, fire safety inspections, and State Fire Marshal-required inspections (including high rise, jail, board and care, and day care inspections), and enforces applicable fire codes and ordinances.
  • Interacts with developers, architects, and engineers to meet the fire protection requirements for buildings and developments by reviewing all architectural blue prints, development plans, and proposals submitted in the City of Indio.
  • Administers public education programs and services to children, adults, seniors, and various groups in the community.
  • Coordinates the Engine Company Business Inspection program, so all the businesses within the City of Indio are evaluated for Fire and Life Safety hazards.


Forms & Service Fees

Top